Guidance on Posting

Posting of dangerous articles or articles that could not be ascertained as non-dangerous is not acceptable. Mail items of this nature will be returned to senders without any postage refund. Posting dangerous articles may also render the sender liable to prosecution. Sender intending to repost a returned mail item again shall ensure that it does not contain the aforesaid articles and shall pay its full postage.

What are dangerous articles?

Lithium battery

Lithium battery

Common products containing lithium batteries

Common products containing lithium batteries (Portable Fan, Tablet, Smartphone, Drone, Digital camera)
Common products containing lithium batteries (Charger, Wireless router, Electric shaver, Wireless controller)

Flammable liquid

Flammable liquid (Lighter, Rubbing alcohol, Nail polish and Perfume)

Pressurised containers (aerosols)

Pressurised containers (aerosols)

Common Issues found in Mail Security Inspection

All mail items must pass the security check before despatching to other destinations. It is observed that some articles which are not dangerous, such as ordinary battery, circuit board, shaped hard disc, etc, are difficult to be differentiated from dangerous articles as their shapes or materials bear close resemblance to dangerous articles during x-ray screening. Hongkong Post may arrange these items to be opened for further examination.

Lithium battery is nowadays the most common dangerous article found in mail item.

Lithium battery wrapped in tin foil or covered up the original lithium battery indication

Lithium battery wrapped in tin foil or covered up the original lithium battery indication

Posting Liquid

The other most common article that could hardly be ascertained as non-dangerous is liquid. We shall return all mail items containing unidentified liquid. Senders are hence recommended not to post any item that contains liquid. If it has to be posted, the liquid must be contained in its original packing with composition and ingredients clearly indicated to facilitate security check. In addition, supporting document such as Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) should also be provided.

Proper Packaging

Packaging with sufficient protection which can be easily resealed should be used to facilitate inspection by our staff and resealing of mail items after inspection. Hongkong Post is not liable for any damage of article in the mail processing as well as the examination process.

Proper Packaging

Proper Packaging

Security Inspection Procedures for Outbound Mail and Item Returning Procedures

Please refer to the flow chart for details.

Note to Bulk Air Mail Service & Direct Agent Bag Service Mailers

Bulk Air Mail Service and Direct Agent Bag Service mailers shall pay attention to the above matters and shall not post any mail items containing articles with close resemblance to dangerous articles (including lithium battery and flammable liquid). Since mail sent via these services would be processed on bag level, Hongkong Post would not open any mail bags during mail processing. If any bag is found to contain items which could not be ascertained as non-dangerous when x-rayed, the whole mail bag would be returned to the sender. For enquiries, please call our 24-hour general enquiry hotline 2921 2222.

投寄須知:

所有危險品或未能確定為非危險品的郵件,均不得以任何方式投寄。此類郵件將會被退回寄件人,而不獲發還所繳付的費用。投寄危險品亦有可能被檢控。寄件人如需重新投寄被退回的郵件,請確保郵件內不再載有上述物品並重新繳付足額郵費。

甚麼是危險品?

鋰電池

鋰電池

常見含鋰電池的產品

常見含鋰電池的產品 (手提風扇、平板電腦、智能電話、航拍機、數碼相機)
常見含鋰電池的產品 (各款充電器、無線路由器、電鬚刨、無線控制器)

易燃液體

易燃液體 (打火機、消毒酒精、指甲油、香水)

壓縮容器(噴霧器)

壓縮容器 (噴霧器)

郵件保安檢查中常見的情況:

所有郵件均須通過保安檢查方會付運至其他地區;部分物品雖然並非危險品,但由於在X光檢查中其形狀及物料與危險品相似,難以準確識別。未能通過檢查的郵件(如:普通電池、電路板或鋰電池狀電腦硬盤等),本署或會安排人員開啟作進一步檢查。

鋰電池是近年於郵件中最常見的危險品。

用錫紙包著鋰電池或遮蓋鋰電池的標籤

用錫紙包著鋰電池或遮蓋鋰電池的標籤

投寄液體

液體為另一最常見難以確定為非危險品的物體,所有未能識別的液體會被退回寄件人,因此建議寄件人盡量不要投寄液體。如需要投寄,必須以原裝未開封的容器盛載,而包裝上須清楚顯示當中成份及原料,以便保安檢查。此外,亦應提供相關文件如物料安全資料報告(MSDS)。

適當包裝:

應使用容易重新封口並有足夠保護的包裝,以方便本署人員檢查郵件及在檢查後將郵件重新封口。香港郵政不會為因檢查而損壞的郵件負上任何責任。

適當包裝

適當包裝

出口郵件保安檢查程序及退件流程:

見附圖

大量投寄空郵服務及代寄商郵袋服務寄件人注意事項:

大量投寄空郵服務及代寄商郵袋服務的寄件人除須注意上述事項外,亦應盡可能不要投寄內藏狀似危險品(包括鋰電池產品及易燃液體)的郵件。由於有關服務會以袋為單位,本署於處理過程中不會開啟任何郵袋。如未能通過X光檢查確定為非危險品的郵件,會整袋被退回。如有查詢,請致電香港郵政24小時查詢熱線2921 2222。