Packing for the Post

Parcels and postal packets sent by post are carried in mailbags and are delivered via different means of transport. Unavoidable shocks and pressures during the journey may cause damages to the mail items. To keep your mail items intact, proper and sufficient packing is essential. At the same time, how to avoid over-packaging and reduce waste? The following tips may give you some hints:

What is environmentally friendly packaging?

Careful selection of packing materials

Pay attention to the raw materials for the packing. Try to choose recyclable containers or cartons made of recycled paper. Avoid using the packing that is not naturally degradable, such as plastic bags.

Make the best use of packing materials

If you need to fill up the space left in the package and enhance the shock protection for your mail items, you can make cushioning materials yourself, for example by crumpling up old newspapers to make paper lumps or using reusable polyfoam (commonly known as Styrofoam). If the packing materials can be reused, please retain them for later use.

Waste reduction at source

Choose suitable containers that are of moderate size, reduce packing size, and use fewer packing materials such as cardboard and adhesive tape.

General Principle for Posting

Correct Addressing

Please print or write the address clearly and accurately. Address should be written legibly in Roman letters and Arabic numerals. You may write the address in the language of the country of destination, provided that the city and country names are in ENGLISH. Include the correct postcode, if any.

Apart from local delivery, mail addressed solely in Chinese characters is acceptable for items sent to Mainland China, Macau and Taiwan.

Please put the sender's name and address at the top left-hand corner on the front of the envelope or on the back of the envelope to facilitate return of undeliverable mail.

Honest Customs Declaration

Every country imposes certain restrictions on mail items received from abroad. In order to comply with customs regulations of all countries of destination, it is important that you fill in every item on the declaration form clearly and accurately, and in the language entirely understood by postal administrations both locally and in the country of destination.

You can complete the declaration forms in Chinese for items addressed to Mainland China, Macau, Singapore or Taiwan.

Awareness of Prohibited Articles

Some articles are prohibited and will be refused for posting; they will be detained if detected in transit. You should ensure that your item does not contain any dangerous articles prohibited by legislation or by postal or customs regulations. You will not receive compensation or postage refund for items containing prohibited articles.

For details on prohibited articles, please refer to Section 6.3 of the Post office Guide.

General Principles of Packing

Containers

Anything except soft or unbreakable articles that can withstand pressure should be packed in a strong container before wrapping. The weight, size, shape and nature of the article should determine the material of the container. Common containers include boxes or cartons of cardboard, fibreboard, kraft board, metal or wood, as well as metal cans and tubes, padded post bags and fibre mailing tubes with metal ends.

Containers should be fit for holding the contents firmly while providing adequate space for cushioning.

If you are sending liquids or powders, we recommend to use double containers which are leak-proof and have sufficient cushioning in between to avoid any movement of the mail content. Items having an odour should be packed in air tight container.

For a wooden or metal box, corners and edges must be padded. The box should then be wrapped in textile such as hessian or sacking. You may use paper for wrapping if the box is fully covered with corrugated cardboard.

Tying and Sealing

Whatever the size and shape of the parcel, you should fasten it with adhesive tape and then string. The string should go round the parcel in at least two directions and be knotted each way. Adhesive tape by itself is not enough.

Wrapping

Light-grade wrapping paper is suitable for small articles only. Heavy-grade material offering a better tear-resistant wrapping should be used for larger parcels. If the parcel is made up of several or stacks of items, it is best to tie them together firmly before final wrapping.

What should be paid attention to while packing mail items?

Do's and Don'ts When Using PostPack Cartons

Do

Don't

Tips for Packing Articles

China, Pottery, Glass or Other Fragile Articles

These items must be contained in boxes made of metal, wood, strong plastic materials, strong and rigid cardboard or stout fibreboard. Each article should be separately wrapped and must be surrounded in the box by paper, wood shavings, wood wool or other protective materials to a thickness of at least 50 mm between the articles and the top, bottom and all four sides of the box, in order to prevent any friction or shock among the articles themselves and between the articles and the sides of the box. There should be no movements of the contents when shaken.

Food

Pack food with an internal waterproof wrapping such as polythene, add absorbent material around it before putting it in sacking or with an internal waterproof wrapping of, e.g. polythene, and absorbent packing.

When sent to tropical or sub-tropical countries or through the tropics, such articles must be packed in receptacles which are rat-proof and do not allow the smell of their contents to escape.

Liquids, Semi-liquids, and Substances Which Liquefy Easily

To mail items containing any liquid, semi-liquids or substances that liquefy easily, you should use two containers. The inner container must be securely sealed and the outer container must be a box of metal, tough wood, wood pulp or strong corrugated cardboard. We strongly advise that you place an absorbent material, such as cotton wool, between the inner container and the outer container to absorb any liquid that may leak out. State in details the specific name and quantity/volume of the content e.g. skin toner 100 ml, shampoo 100 ml, etc. You may also be required by the Aviation Security Company Limited to personally go to the Air Mail Centre for an on-the-spot checking of the mail piece.

Maps, Plans, Drawings and So On

Enclose these in strong cardboard tubes with rigid support in the form of a wooden rod inside the roll, or stout strips of wood on the outside as recommended for umbrellas and so on.

Metal Casting, Tiles, and Similar Articles

You should securely tie such items in a wrapping of some textile such as hessian or sacking before packing them in a stout wooden or fibreboard container with enough packing material to prevent all movement and provide a 25 mm margin of packing on all sides.

Nuts, Bolts and Small Machine Parts

You should wrap these articles in hessian, sacking or similar stout material with sufficient soft packing to prevent movement. Also tie them securely with strong string.

Paper Goods – Leaflets, Brochures, Books

Small quantities should be securely tied together with good quality brown paper or sheet polythene with an inner protective layer of corrugated cardboard, or enclosed in padded/heavy duty envelopes. For larger quantities, secure these articles by tying or banding the contents together before enclosing in strong cardboard cartons. If the contents do not completely fill the carton, you must add cushioning to fill out the box. Separate stacks of books or leaflets by using dividers or forms of corrugated board. Cartons and packages must be completely strapped or taped across all flaps. A single sheet of brown paper secured by adhesive tape is not enough.

Photographic Prints

  1. UNMOUNTED. If not sent in cardboard tubes (see Maps, plans, drawings and so on), you should pack these in sturdy envelopes with at least one stiffener of fibreboard or good quality cardboard; if you are sending several prints, enclose them in a rigid box of fibreboard or good quality cardboard with sufficient soft packing to fill the box. Write DO NOT BEND on the cover.
  2. MOUNTED. These should be wrapped in tissue and firmly fixed between two stiffeners of rigid material such as fibreboard or strong plywood, at least 25 mm larger all round than the mounts. If you are sending more than three mounted photographs, you should wrapped thse items in tissue and corrugated paper and packed in a rigid box of solid fibreboard, preferably with a wooden frame round the inside of the box. Wrtite DO NOT BEND on the cover.

Pictures in Frames

Pictures in frames should be protected at the front and back by stout wooden boards each larger than the frame. Place soft packing firmly between the corners of the frame and the boards, but make sure that the packaging does not press on the glass.

Radio and Electrical Equipment

You should pack radio and electrical equipment in rigid boxes of wood, fibreboard or very strong corrugated cardboard. Use ample soft packing to prevent movement and add more support for heavy component parts. Valves, electric bulbs and other such components should be sent separately and packed in sufficent soft packing such as cotton-wool and enclosed in a rigid box of wood, fibreboard or very strong corrugated cardboard.

Suit, Attaché, Dressing, and Similar Cases

These should be protected by wooden boards covering the sides.

Packing for Insured Articles

Pack and seal insured articles in the way that make immediately apparent any attempts at tampering with the contents. You should use packing materials that is appropriate for the contents of the itme you are sending.

Insured Letters

They may be enclosed either in a box or in a one-piece envelope with a strong cover or packing. We do not recommend using transparent packing materials. Use boxes made of strong metal, wood or plastic. The walls of a wooden box should be at least 8 mm thick. If you do not use outer wrapping, you must cover the top and bottom surfaces of the box with white paper where the addressee's name and address and the insured value are written, and stamps are impressed.

Insured Parcels

For the packing of insured parcels, please refer to Tips for Packing Articles.

Sealing

All insured items must be sealed but wax sealing is not obligatory. As a minimum requirement an insured letter or parcel is acceptable for transmission if all joins and flaps are sealed with effective means such as fine adhesive tape with a special uniform design or mark of the sender. These sealing strips must normally be transparent or white but brown paper strip is acceptable for sealing brown wrapping paper. They must be affixed in such a way that unauthorized removal would be apparent. In case of insured items sealed with transparent adhesive tape, the distinctive mark or stamp of the sender must be applied directly on the closing flap of the envelope before the transparent adhesive type is affixed. It should be impossible to remove any part of the contents without either breaking or tearing the case, wrapper or cover, or forcing two adhesive surfaces apart. Never use non-tamper-proof self-adhesive envelopes.

If the joints and flaps are sealed by wax or lead, each seal must bear a distinct impression of the same private device or mark of the sender. A coin may not be used for this purpose, nor may the device consist merely of straight, crossed or curved lines which could readily be imitated. Finger-prints or thumb-prints are also unacceptable.

Provided that a letter or parcel has been properly sealed as described above, it need not be fastened with string, although you are free to add string without it having to be sealed. However, if you use string to ensure the inviolability of a box, the ends of the string must be joined under a wax seal bearing the sender's private mark.

Hongkong Post PostPack Products

We offer a full range of PostPack products to make your packing easier.

PostPack Mailing Tubes

Strong material with inner waterproof lining and strong cover cap, the tubes are the safe way to post your posters, maps, drawings, etc. Adhesive address label is provided to make posting simple and easy.

Size Available

Product CodeDimensions (mm)
T1 445 X 50
T2 740 X 50
T3 740 X 80

PostPack Cartons

Made of heavy duty corrugated cardboard, the carton gives superior protection to your items sent by post. Sealing labels are included to make posting simple and convenient.

Size Available

Product CodeDimensions (mm)
P1 310 X 225 X 170
P2 225 X 170 X 150
P3 180 X 155 X 100

PostPack Padded Envelopes

Made of heavy duty kraft paper laminated to bubble lining that provides protection right to the point of delivery.

Size Available

Product CodeDimensions (mm)
00 225 X 125
CD 184 X 200
2 280 X 215
5 380 X 265
7 480 X 360

Multi-Packs

The carton is made of heavy durable corrugated cardboard to provide substantial protection. It is available in 4 designs and is priced at zonal flat rates to make posting costs more competitive.

Size Available

Product CodeCapacityDimensions (mm)
M1 5kg 370 X 250 X 210
M2 10kg 430 X 350 X 260
M3 20kg 455 X 425 X 335
M4 30kg 730 X 550 X 460

Enquiries

For more information about proper packing and how to pack insured mail items, please visit Hongkong Post website: www.hongkongpost.hk

包装邮件指南

市民投寄的包裹和邮包会放于邮袋内,再以不同的交通工具进行派递。在运送途中,邮件或难以抵受震盪和压力。为了确保投寄的物品完整无缺,稳妥的包装是必须的。在包妥邮件的同时,如何避免过度包装,减少浪费?请参考以下提示:

何谓环保包装?

慎选物料

留意包装的製造物料,尽量选择可循环再造的容器,亦可选择以再造纸製成的纸匣。避免使用难以自然分解的物料包装邮件,例如胶袋。

物尽其用

如果需要填满包装内剩馀的空间,并加强邮件的防撞保护,可考虑自製软垫物料,例如把旧报纸捏成纸团或使用旧泡沫塑料(俗称发泡胶)。旧包装如果仍然合用,可以保留下次重用。

源头减废

选择大小适合的容器,缩减包装尺寸,减少消耗卡纸、胶纸等包装物料。

一般投寄邮件原则

地址正确

请列印或书写清楚而正确的地址。地址应以英文字母及阿拉伯数字书写。您可用目的地的语言书写收件地址,但国家和城市名称必须以英文书写。如果有邮政编码,也应一併写上。

不仅是本地邮件,寄往中国内地、澳门或台湾的邮件也可以中文书写地址。

请在信封正面的左上角或背部写上寄件人姓名及地址,以便把无法成功投递的邮件儘早退回。

诚实报关

每个国家都会对海外寄来的邮件实施一定限制,为了能符合所有寄达国的海关规定,请您清楚及准确地填写报关表格上的每项资料,并应以本地及海外邮政机关都能清楚明白的语文填写。

如果邮寄目的地是中国内地、澳门、新加坡及台湾,您可直接用中文填写报关表格。

认识禁寄物品

若干物品属于禁寄物品,如在运送途中被查出,邮件会被扣留。您须确保您的邮件并不载有任何法例、邮政规例或海关规条所禁寄的危险物品。倘若您的邮件载有禁寄物品,您将不会获得赔偿或退回邮费。

有关禁寄物品的详细资料,请参阅《邮政指南》第6.3部分

一般包装原则

容器

除不受压力损坏的柔软或不易破碎的物品外,包裹在包装前须装于坚固的容器内。容器的物料应以内载物的重量、体积、形状和性质而定,如箱子、纸板盒、纤维板盒、牛皮纸盒、金属盒或木盒,以及金属罐和金属管、用软物填塞的邮袋和金属头的纤维邮管。

容器应大小适中,且有充足空间填塞软垫物料。若您投寄液体或粉末,我们建议您使用个别防漏容器盛载,内外容器之间应有足够软垫物料,防止物品在容器内晃动。有气味的物品应放置在不漏气的容器内。

木盒或金属盒盖和盒边须加软垫,避免露出尖角,再以粗麻布料缠裹。若盒子已用瓦通纸板包妥,则可用普通纸包裹。

捆扎和密封

不论何种形状大小的包裹,亦应先用胶纸黏合,再用绳子捆扎,且应循最少两个方向饶过包裹,每头分别打结。单用胶纸是不足够的。

缠裹

薄身包纸只适用于细小物品,较大型物品应以厚身纸缠裹,以防撕破。若有数件物品,在最后缠裹前应先用绳子将所有物品捆在一起,固定位置。

邮件包装有什麽要注意的地方?

使用邮用纸匣须知

不应

包装邮件提示

瓷器、陶器、玻璃器皿及其他易碎物品

这类物品必须用金属、木料、坚硬塑胶原料、坚固的纸板或结实的纤维板製造的盒子装载。每件物品应分别用纸包好,物品与物品之间,以及物品与盒子顶部、底部及四周之间须以纸、木屑、木丝或其他保护物料围好,这些物料的厚度须至少有50毫米,以防物品之间或物品与盒子四边互相摩擦或撞击。摇动盒子时,内载物品应不能移动。

食物

必须先用塑胶类防水包装纸包裹,加上足够吸水物料,再用粗麻布等包装。

如果投寄这类物品往热带或亚热带国家或途径热带地方。必须用防鼠和不会泄出内载物品气味的容器包装。

液体、半液体及容易液化的物质

邮寄任何液体、半液体或容易液化物质时,您应使用两个容器装载。内层容器必须妥为封口,而外层容器则必须是以金属、坚固的木料、木浆纸或硬瓦通纸板製成的盒子。我们建议在外层和内层容器之间放置吸水物料 (例如脱脂绵),以便液体出现渗漏时即时吸去液体。邮件须详细列明内载物的其名称及数量/容量,例如爽肤水100毫升、洗髮液100毫升等。另请留意,机场保安有限公司如认为邮件有可疑,可能会邀请您亲自前往空邮中心,以便当场检查该邮件。

地图、图样、绘图等

这类物品应放置在坚固的纸板筒内,可以在筒内放置木条,或在外边加上坚实木条作支撑,即如邮寄雨伞等一样。

金属铸品、瓦片及类似物

您应先用粗麻布或麻布袋之类的布料把这类物品稳固地包起,再放进坚固的木製或纤维板容器。容器应铺上足够的柔软垫料,以防止物品移动,每边垫料须有25毫米的厚度。

螺帽、螺栓及细小的机器零件等

您应用粗麻布、麻袋布或类似的坚固物料包裹这类物品,并须内置足够的柔软垫料,使内载物品不会移动,然后以坚靭的绳子稳妥捆扎。

纸品—传单、小册子、书籍

小量的纸品应用优质的牛皮纸或塑胶纸捆好,里面以一层瓦通纸板来保护,或用有软垫/重载信封包好。把大量的纸品放进坚硬的纸板匣子前,应先把内载物品捆起或扎起。倘若物品不能完全填满纸匣,则须用软垫物料把盒子填满。您应使用分隔物或瓦通纸板把各迭书籍或传单隔开。纸匣及包装盒必须用带条完全捆好或以胶纸封住所有口盖。只用胶纸黏合单张牛皮纸并不足够。

照片

  1. 未裱贴的照片如并非用纸筒投寄(请参阅“地图、图样、绘图等”一段),则应把未裱贴的照片放进内有至少一块纤维板之类的硬物或优质纸板的硬信封内。如投寄数帧照片,应把照片放进用纤维板或优质纸板製成的坚硬盒子内,并以足够的柔软垫料把盒子填满。邮件的封面应标明“请勿摺曲”(DO NOT BEND)字样。
  2. 已裱贴的照片应以薄纸把照片包裹,再用两块四边较贴好的照片长至少25毫米的纤维板或坚硬夹板之类的坚固物料夹稳。如投寄三帧以上的已裱贴照片,您应以薄纸及瓦通纸把照片包裹,并以实心纤维板製造的坚硬盒子包装,盒内最好有木框支撑盒子四周。邮件的封面应标明“请勿摺曲” (DO NOT BEND) 字样。

镶入框架的图片

应以硬木板保护镶入框架的图片的正面和背面。每块木板得较框架为大。框角与木板之间应放置柔软垫料,但应避免柔软垫料压着玻璃。

收音机及电器

您应将收音机及电器装在用木料、纤维板或非常坚固的瓦通纸板製成的硬盒内。盒内应加上足够的柔软垫料,以防止物品移动,并应为重身的部件提供更多承托。投寄电子管、灯泡等物品时应用足够的柔软垫料如棉絮等把物品加以个别包装,然后再放进用木料、纤维板或非常坚固的瓦通纸板所製成的硬盒内。

提箱、公事包、化妆盒及类似箱子

这类物品的四边,必须用木板加以保护。

投保物品之包装

投保物品应经妥善包装及封口,务求让任何外来的破坏都能即时被察觉。您应根据内载物的性质而採用适当的包装物料。

投保信件

可放于盒子或一张过的信封内,而信封须以紥实的物料製造。我们并不建议使用透明包装物料。若使用盒子,物料须为坚固金属、木或塑胶;木製盒子每面的厚度应最少达8毫米。您可自行加上外层包装纸,若没有外层包装,您应在盒子的底和面两面附上白色纸,以便写上收件人姓名和地址、物品的投保金额及盖上邮戳。

投保包裹

有关之包装方法,请参阅包装邮件提示

封口

所有保险邮件必须封口,但无须一定用火漆加封。寄运的保险信件或包裹起码要用优质胶纸等妥当物料封好所有接口及封盖,由寄件人在上面画上相同图样或标记。封条的颜色一般须为透明或白色,但亦可用棕色胶纸封贴棕色的包装纸。贴上封条时必须确保能清楚看出内载物品曾否被人非法取出。此外,若非将外盒、包装纸或封套弄破或撕开,或扯开两个黏连的表面,亦应无法取出内载物品。请勿使用非干预防护的自动黏贴信封。

倘以火漆或铅封贴接口封盖,每个封贴均须盖上寄件人私人盖印或标记的特别印样,惟不得使用硬币、或单由直线、交叉或曲线组成而容易彷製的图样,手指模或拇指纹亦不能接受。

若信件或包裹已依照上述指示妥为封口,则无须再用绳捆扎。不过,您亦可选择使用绳子;绳子无须封口。如使用绳子捆扎盒子以确保不受损坏,绳子两端必须接好,再用火漆盖上寄件人的私人印记。

香港邮政邮用产品

我们备有多款邮用产品,让顾客可更轻鬆地包装邮件。

邮用卷筒

坚固卷筒,兼有防水内层及顶盖,提供最佳的保护作用。邮寄海报、地图、图则等更加方便妥当。随卷筒附送黏贴地址标贴,方便邮寄。

配备尺码

产品编号尺寸(毫米)
T1 445 X 50
T2 740 X 50
T3 740 X 80

邮用纸匣

邮用纸匣用特厚瓦通纸製造,为你所投寄的物品,提供绝佳保护作用,随纸匣奉赠封口胶贴,邮寄包裹,更觉简便。

配备尺码

产品编号尺寸(毫米)
P1 310 X 225 X 170
P2 225 X 170 X 150
P3 180 X 155 X 100

邮用软垫信封

邮用软垫信封用坚韧牛皮纸製造,内连气帽软垫,确保邮件在运送途中安全妥善,免遭损坏。

配备尺码

产品编号尺寸(毫米)
00 225 X 125
CD 184 X 200
2 280 X 215
5 380 X 265
7 480 X 360

万用箱

万用箱用特厚瓦通纸製造,坚固扎实,而且共分4种尺码,包装邮件更感灵活;邮费则以目的地之所在地区划分,经济实惠。

配备尺码

产品编号承重量尺寸(毫米)
M1 5公斤 370 X 250 X 210
M2 10公斤 430 X 350 X 260
M3 20公斤 455 X 425 X 335
M4 30公斤 730 X 550 X 460

查询

如欲了解其他包装邮件提示及如何包装保险邮件,请参阅香港邮政网页www.hongkongpost.hk。